Showing first {{hits.length}} results of {{hits_total}} for {{searchQueryText}}{{hits.length}} results for {{searchQueryText}}

No hay resultados de búsqueda

Overleaf’s Dropbox Synchronization feature allows you to synchronize your Overleaf projects with a Dropbox folder. Your Overleaf updates are automatically pushed to Dropbox and any changes you make in Dropbox are automatically reflected in your Overleaf projects.

This feature allows you to access the contents of your projects including the complete source code and image files of your projects outside of Overleaf, backup your work online across multiple devices, and access your work offline to work on independently.

Overleaf Dropbox synchronization is a premium Overleaf feature.

How Do I Set it Up?

To set up Overleaf Dropbox synchronization, you must first give permission for Overleaf to access your Dropbox account via your Account Settings.

Dropbox setup.png

Once you click ‘Link to Dropbox’ you will be brought to the Dropbox authorization page where you can sign into with your Dropbox credentials.

After you’ve successfully linked your Overleaf account to your Dropbox account, you will be brought back to the ‘Account Settings’ page where you will see confirmation that your account has been linked.

What Does it Look Like?

After Overleaf Dropbox Sync is set up, you’ll see an Overleaf folder created in your Dropbox Apps folder. Each project will be synchronized with a folder in Dropbox under Apps/Overleaf.

Note: It’s not possible to specify which Dropbox folder you want to sync your Overleaf projects too. Due to a Dropbox limitation, your files will always be synced to the Dropbox Apps/Overleaf folder.

Dropbox sync.png

Because Overleaf projects are associated with Dropbox folders, in order to synchronize with Dropbox your project names must be unique. Even if projects are archived or trashed, project names must be unique across your entire Overleaf account in order to activate Dropbox syncing.

To prevent edits from being applied to the wrong project, we unlink Dropbox if we detect multiple projects with the same name. If you rename your projects to all have unique names, then you'll be able to link to Dropbox again.

What are the Benefits?

This integration results in two-way updates between Dropbox and Overleaf. This means that any changes you make to the contents of these folders can then be synced and reflected in Overleaf. This includes:

  • New files added to a folder in the Dropbox Apps/Overleaf folder will result in the files being uploaded to the corresponding Overleaf project.
  • Changes to files in Dropbox Apps/Overleaf will result in the files being updated in Overleaf.
  • A new folder added at the Dropbox Apps/Overleaf folder will cause a new project with the same contents to be created in Overleaf.
  • Any changes made in Overleaf will result in corresponding changes in the Apps/Overleaf folder.

Which Overleaf Projects are Synchronized?

All active Overleaf projects that you own or have been granted explicit edit access to will be synced with your Dropbox account.

Projects that will be synchronized with Dropbox:

  • Owned by you and active.
  • Directly shared with you and editable by you.

Projects that will not be synchronized with Dropbox

  • Owned by you and archived or trashed.
  • Directly shared with you as 'read only.'
  • Shared with you via a link.

What Should I Know Before Syncing Projects?

Please be aware of certain Dropbox behaviours and their potential impact on your Overleaf projects.

  • If you delete a folder on Dropbox, all its contents will be removed in Overleaf but the project will still remain, in order to preserve its history.
  • Be cautious with renaming or moving project folders in Dropbox - this may be interpreted as “delete and create,” resulting in a loss of history and comments in Overleaf.
  • Dropbox does not allow the Apps folders to be shared, so you cannot setup your Overleaf project folders to be shared with other Dropbox users.
  • Project names should not include colons or slashes.
  • File names should not include characters that are not supported within file names by the Windows operating system.
  • Your Overleaf projects must have unique names to allow them to be mapped to distinct Dropbox folders.
  • Because Project names are mapped onto folder names in Dropbox, care needs to be taken when changing project names in Overleaf (see note below).

Troubleshooting

If your Overleaf projects stop synching with Dropbox, please check the following.

  • Are the projects that have stopped synchronizing in the Archive or Trash?
  • Do you have edit permission for the project?
  • Have you gone above the file limits for Overleaf projects?
  • Have you added any files that Overleaf does not support (such as .doc files)?
  • Do any of your files include characters that are not supported in Dropbox file names?
  • Do any of your projects (even projects that are archived and trashed) have the same name as another project?

If it seems that a project that should be synchronized is not synching, please try unlinking and relinking your Dropbox account in your Overleaf Account Settings. If you continue to have trouble, please contact Overleaf support.

If your Overleaf Account has been unlinked from Dropbox because of duplicate project names, please follow these steps:

  1. Make sure Dropbox is unlinked from Overleaf's Account Settings.
  2. Change the project names on the Overleaf side so that they are distinct.
  3. Re-link Dropbox from Overleaf's Account Settings.

Overleaf guides

LaTeX Basics

Mathematics

Figures and tables

References and Citations

Languages

Document structure

Formatting

Fonts

Presentations

Commands

Field specific

Class files

Advanced TeX/LaTeX